top of page
  • annarobrts

1. Inspiration from Dumitriu and Cognitive Sensations.

Updated: Jul 25, 2021

After completing my transdisciplinary module, I began to look into my project with a focus on transdisciplinarity; specifically, how medicine can look beyond the boundaries and connect different disciplines together, in order to inform professionals further about the disease. My project combines the disciplines of botany and neuroscience to further inform the brain tumour Glioblastoma.


Once I came to this conclusion, I began to construct my research proposal by looking into artists for the literature review.


I came across an interesting talk by artist Anna Dumitriu and her piece ‘Unnatural, that too is Natural’ 2021. I found her project quite fascinating with her parallels to my project, particularly the medicinal properties of chicory plants.


Her work combined the natural properties of plants and the artificial nature of technology. I find merging these boundaries on nature and technology, present interesting possibilities within medicine, through techniques of bio-printing and augmented reality.


In her talk, she discussed her project involving, 3D scanning the chicory plant, in order to construct into an augmented reality piece.


Dumitriu, A. (2021) 'Biotechnology from the Blue Flower' [Augmented Reality.]


She also used plant cells to bio print into living organisms that grow.

Dumitriu, A. (2021) Chicory Plants grown from Protoplasts. [Photograph]



Her many ways to visualise the chicory plant, creates innovate ways of engagement and creative ways to play with the natural and unnatural.


Some key points, addressed in the creation of her project, was 3D printing the chicory plant. As the leaves and flowers were quite delicate, the scanner found it difficult to pick up all the detail.

Dumitriu, A. (2021) 3D scan of chicory flower. [3D scan]


This was something key to consider when 3D scanning my sculpture that contains the Bacopa Monnieri plant. When discussing this aspect in my studio criteria session, Mark mentioned that using photogrammetry may be more effective. By photographing my sculpture from different angles with consistent lighting, photogrammetry software could build up a 3D image based on the photographs.


Another point from Anna Dumitriu’s talk is the role of Augmented Reality. I found that her thought of AR filters acting as visual material for visitors to take home with them, really resonated with my Augmented Reality filter that I created of my brain. This was an aspect that I wanted to pursue further with my art pieces, through designing an Augmented Reality exhibition.


Based on Dumitriu’s talk, I came away with many questions regarding my own project. How will I 3D scan my sculptures?


In Dumitriu's talk, she also mentioned about the role of terpenes, of which my plant the Bacopa Monnieri contains a form of this, known as terpenoids. Upon researching more, I found that they are both hydrocarbons found in natural compounds, that possess anti-inflammation and anti-cancer properties. This provided a further interesting connection regarding my project and Dumitriu's research.


Alongside this talk, I also watched another talk by Cognitive Sensations, in their recent exhibition ‘the Downloadable Brain’ 2021. I found the duo artists Ash/Ella, highlights my interest in Augmented Reality, as they wanted to conduct their exhibition using Augmented Reality, to allow users to interact with the pieces within their own space. I found this to be quite interesting, as users can contextualise the art pieces within their own environment and interact with them more intimately, than a physical exhibition.



Ash/Ella (2021) A Questionable Companionship [Augmented Reality]

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page