top of page
  • annarobrts

3. 3D Brain Meetings and Plants for the Future

Updated: Jul 25, 2021

After conducting some of these failed experiments, I began to consider ways I could envision my brain through the technique of 3D printing. After my experiment with the resin brain, I initially wanted to use resin to 3D print a hollow, transparent brain that would hold the Bacopa Monnieri plant.


In order to produce this 3D printed brain, I booked a meeting at the Fab Lab to discuss my concept and how to visualise my idea.


When meeting with Lol and Adam from the Fab Lab studio, I discussed my idea of 3D printing a hollow brain out of resin. The initially issue that Adam and Lol explained to me, was the cost of the material. Resin is quite an expensive material to use, so creating a complex brain, may prove to be a high cost. However, Lol suggested an alternative material that could also provide a transparent quality.


He suggested the PLA/Polylactic Acid would be better, as it is a cheaper material and is also a bioplastic made from renewable sources, such as corn starch or sugar cane. I found the bio-compostable material, to be effective in the theme of my exhibition of nature and using natural resources for human repair.


Adam also mentioned to me about booking another session to discuss 3D printing the brain and using the software Fusion 360 to hollow out the brain model.


After having this meeting with both Lol and Adam, I downloaded fusion 360, and went online to source a 3D model of a brain that also had creative commons licensing. The final website that I chose was Clara.io, as they had a lot of 3D models that were free to use and edit for personal use.

Screenshot of website.


I also began to look into more artworks to gain more inspiration. Mark sent me a really fascinating artwork created by Mary Maggic. Her work ‘Plants for the Future’ (2010) was a part of the exhibition at the Migros Museum titled ‘Potential Worlds 2: Eco-Fictions’.

Maggic, M. (2010) Plants of the Future [mixed media]


An insightful remark that Mark made about the work, was its similar appearance to an EEG cap, used to scan brain waves. The plants growing out from this colander-like sculpture, ties an interdisciplinary relationship between nature and medicine, of which my exhibition also explores. This gave me something to consider when creating my sculptural pieces, through combining medical technology into my sculptural pieces.

Somma, R. (2008) EEG Cap [photograph]


Another point about Mary Maggic’s piece, is the use of hydroponic plants, which is the same as the research into my plants, the Bacopa Monnieri. These connections afforded me really fascinating contextual references for my project.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page