top of page
  • annarobrts

13. Agar Brains Growing!

Based on my promising experiment with the augmented reality filter, I wanted to create another sculpture, so that I would have three, concrete sculptural elements.


After having discussions and doing research into Mellissa Fisher and her artwork “Cress”, I decided to explore the material of agar, due to its similarity to gelatine.


Upon doing research into the use of agar, I discovered a fascinating article that illustrates the promising of using agar to grow plants in order to explore root and shoot growth patterns. The transparent quality of the agar allows for inspection into the plant roots. Within botanical science, agar is used as a sterile material to grow plants or bacteria, in order to study certain aspects of a plant.


When beginning to experiment with agar, I boiled the agar powder in a measured amount of water. With Mellissa Fisher’s piece “Cress”, she used nutrient agar, however I found that harder to purchase online. For this reason, I chose to improvise and combine plant food into the agar solution, once it had cooled down slightly.


One concern I had was how my Bacopa Monnieri plant would cope within the agar solution. I wanted the mixture to be cooled down, so it wouldn’t damage the plant, however I did not want it to stiffen too much so I couldn’t insert the plant. For this reason, I poured the agar solution into my brain mould and put it in the fridge, for half an hour.


After this, I placed the Bacopa Monneiri plant into the agar solution, insuring that the roots were encased in the agar. I left it in the fridge for two hours, and attempted to remove it from the mould.


Once removing it from the mould, it came out easily, but unfortunately I had taken it out too soon, and the agar split.


On the second attempt, I chose to leave the agar in the fridge overnight, to ensure it had stiffened. I felt that due to the size of the brain, maybe it would take longer than the two hours instructed.


Once revealing the brain the following day, it came out perfectly. I found the agar was not quite as transparent as desired, but I could see the top of the Bacopa Monnieri plant. I decided to conduct a time lapse video of its growth, as Mellissa Fisher mentioned she had conducted one, and it was particularly aesthetically pleasing.


Unfortunately, I could not obtain a time lapse camera, so I chose to take a picture each day of the plant in order to track its growth. I found taking the picture at the same time each day, would provide some consistency in the pictures.


As the agar brain began to grow, I found that the plant started sprouting out from the top, however, I did notice some mould that began to form.



I decided to reach out to Mellissa Fisher to ask about her about this and how to avoid this.


Mellissa responded explaining that it was the environment that was causing the mould to grow, that could have been a combination of the humidity and general bacteria that resides in the atmosphere. She offered an option of creating a climate controlled box that would keep the agar in a sterile environment.


After considering her options, I began to reflect on the production of mould, and whether this could contribute to the meaning of the piece. The production of mould is a natural occurrence but also a possible harmful substance. This could echo towards the role of a brain tumour, due to its natural occurrence as a result of a mutation, and also its harmful effects.


The role of the plant acting as a treatment for GBM but also echo the growth pattern of a tumour, could be interesting to bring in the role of mould. As mould is a result of the environment and is a visible symbol of decay, could the mould symbolise the visible signs of a brain tumour, such as headaches, nausea, confusion paralysis. This became a fascinating symbol to bring into this piece, the way mould could act as the side effects the brain tumour. I also find it fascinating if I could depict the mould spreading over the brain, further reinforcing the inescapable and consuming nature of a brain tumour.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page