top of page
  • annarobrts

7. Designing the Website

Once I had begun writing my reflective report, I started to work on designing the theme of the website. When thinking of the design for the website, I started about thinking of a colour scheme. I initially wanted an element of green, in order to reflect my research into plants within brain tumour treatment. One of my artworks that I photographed, featured my resin brain against a black background with an element of light reflecting off the resin and the green Bacopa Monnieri plant. This inspired the colour scheme of the website as black and green.

Resin Brain (2021) Taken by Anna Roberts


After deciding on a colour scheme, I then decided to create a logo that reflected my artworks and was cohesive with the website.

I used my inspiration from my resin brain, to digitally illustrate a brain on Photoshop against a black background. I discovered this website called Silk – Interactive art generator, this allowed me to create these interesting silk-like patterns, which resembled the pattern of the Bacopa Monnieri plant.

Screenshot of Silk Generator taken from Silk Art Generator


After creating these interesting effects, I interweaved them within my brain illustration and created this white halo effect surrounding the brain, in order to make the brain stand out further. I found the outcome to be really effective and looked quite professional on the website.



Digital Illustration of Brain logo created on Photoshop


When designing the website, I used Wix and found the interface to be really accessible and easy to use. As designing the website takes a lot of processing power, sometimes it got a bit glitchy, but overall it was easy to interact with. I used the Artificial Design Intelligence tool, which featured a series of questions that allowed me to tailor the website to the purpose of this project. I found referring to previous examples of websites, was really useful in acting as a template on how to structure a website. Within the website, I found that it was easy to add various pieces of multimedia, such as Microsoft sway documents, a virtual exhibition, blog posts and social media accounts.


After beginning to create the foundations of the website, I wanted to focus on the soundscape aspect. Upon researching sound composers and designers, I discovered that most of them required payment of some sort, of which did not feature within my budget, for this reason, I decided to approach students involved in film and sound design. Upon researching out to mutual friends, I reached out to film and TV production student Adam Roberts at University of York. He explained to me that as part of his degree, he had to design a soundscape based on theme or topic of interest. I found this to be a key transdisciplinary connection as we could both benefit from this collaboration. I initially approached him with my concept, to which he seemed quite interested in; therefore, I considered collaborating with him further.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page